Not long after the First World War, Bristol experienced an extensive growth in
population. This saw the need of new housing. From 1929 to 1939, new housing
developments began to be seen in many parts of the city, including former farmland,
known as Southmead.
Among the new population of Southmead were many Catholics. Those on the Filton
side of the estate attended St. Teresa’s Church in Filton. Those on the Westbury side of
the estate attended Sacred Heart Church.
The building of new houses continued after the Second World War and it became
apparent that a permanent Church was needed on the new estate. A plot of land on
Glencoyne Square was purchased for £900 by the Diocese of Clifton in 1953. Building
works soon began. On Low Sunday 1955, Bishop Joseph Rudderham Blessed and
dedicated the new Church of St. Vincent de Paul.
For the first 8 years, the new parish had no permanent parish priest and the spiritual
needs of St. Vincent’s parishioners were undertaken by the clergy resident in St.
Teresa’s Filton. However, in 1963, Fr. Daniel Supple was appointed as the resident
Parish Priest. He faithfully served the Parish for the next 29 years. He was succeeded
by Fr. Eugene Campbell and then by Fr. George Batten. In 2011, with new Diocesan
structures in place the Parish of St. Vincent’s began working together in communion with
the Parish of St. Teresa’s Filton. Both Parishes are now working closely together under
the pastoral supervision of Fr. Tom Finnegan.
St. Vincent’s remains a vibrant and now very multicultural parish with close links to the
community of Southmead and the city of Bristol beyond.